Turtles of Flores

There are seven species of sea turtles in the world. Five of them live in the surrounding waters of Flores. These five species include the green turtle, hawksbill turtle, olive ridley turtle, loggerhead turtle and the leatherback turtle. Basically, Flores is an absolute dream for turtle lovers!

The loggerhead sea turtle is named for its massive head with strong jaws and can weight up to 375 pounds. They prefer to be in coastal bays as well as in shallow water along the land. The olive ridley turtle is named for its olive green shell and can weigh up to 100 pounds. They are generally found in coastal bays but can also be found in the open sea.

The green turtle can easily be distinguished from other sea turtles because they only have one pair of prefrontal scales instead of two. The turtle is named after the green fats found under its shell. They can weigh up to 420 pounds. The hawksbill is named after its narrow head and hawk-like beak. This is one of the smaller sea turtles and can weigh up to 154 pounds. Both species are often spotted on the reefs in Komodo National Park.

The leatherback turtle is an endangered species. It survived the dinosaurs but now is struggling to survive the threats of humans. Their eggs are considered a delicacy. A conservation camp can be found on the beach in Labuan Bajo that operates on donations and volunteers. Even though the camp is mainly to preserve and protect the leatherback turtle, they also work with the locals to raise awareness on environmental issues. Travellers can stay in the camp for a small fee or help out with beach patrolling.

Travel trips

  • Visit the gorgeous beaches of Flores
  • Bring a water resistant camera to cherish the underwater world forever
  • Make sure you can hire snorkelling equipment on the island, if not make sure to bring your own

Photo courtesy: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/animals/green-sea-turtle/#green-sea-turtle-closeup-underwater.jpg

Tags: ,,,

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.